tribute to Anni Albers

Anni Albers

To begin this new decade, Patric Hollington decided to pay tribute to a woman, Anni Albers. This German-born artist was successively celebrated as a textile designer, lithographer, and art theorist. If Patric admired her work and her life, it is because the connections between them are numerous, from the aesthetic sensibility to the very approach of the textile as raw material, because they shared the love of fibre.

Coming from a wealthy family (her grandfather is the founder of the Ullstein publishing house), Anni Albers is immersed in a very cosmopolitan environment. As a teenager, she follows the private teaching of impressionist painter Martin Brandenburg. She then enters the School of Applied Art in Hamburg where she discovers the work of fabric, unfortunately in its ornamental form only. In 1922 Anni joins the Bauhaus School - one of Patric Hollington's favourite sources of inspiration.

Under the eye and influence of her teachers, she begins shaping raw materials. Like Patric, she will later say that it is the fabric material that has chosen her as a medium rather than the opposite.

For Anni Albers textile is a living material. She strives to tame and develop this raw fibre throughout her experiments. With Muche, she learns to master its forms; with Itten, she studies the chromatic circle; with Stotzl, she tames dyeing and drawing on fabric. Another of his mentors is Klee, who will help her shape her artistic spirit.

Anni Albers is sensitive to every possibility of materials. She likes to work with solid fabrics, alternating reliefs and flat area. Just as Patric Hollington diverts furnishing fabrics into costumes and jackets, she makes objects out of them. She is at the same time manual, tactile, exploratory and sensitive and finally manages to imagine a quality industrial production.

Bauhaus - Anni Albers

For Patric Hollington as for Anni Albers, fibre must be useful, beautiful and accessible. They see their industry as a craft where the colours of the prints are both functional and aesthetic. Both inspired by their travels abroad and by the arts, their desires are common: they aim at the reconsideration of the textile material as an artistic medium in its own right.

This summer, hollington develops beautiful linen and cotton jacquards in tribute to Anni Albers. After extensive research and development of fabrics with his friend Stefano, Patric created a capsule collection inspired by the work of the designer. Added to this is a large selection of textured linen fabrics and summer cottons borrowing the colours of the Bauhaus movement: a new range of light and washable fabrics, very easy to maintain for the summer!

Patterns - Anni Albers

hommage à Anni Albers

Anni Albers

Pour entamer cette nouvelle décennie, Patric Hollington avait décidé de rendre hommage à une femme, Anni Albers. Cette artiste née en Allemagne a été successivement célébrée comme designer textile, lithographe, et théoricienne de l’art. Si Patric a admiré son œuvre et sa vie, c’est que les rapprochements entre eux étaient nombreux, depuis la sensibilité esthétique jusqu’à l’approche même du textile comme matière brute, car ils partageaient l’amour de la fibre.

Issue d’une famille aisée (son grand père est le fondateur des éditions Ullstein), Anni Albers baigne dans un milieu très cosmopolite. Adolescente, elle suit l’enseignement particulier du peintre impressionniste Martin Brandenburg. Elle entre à l’École d’Art Appliqués de Hambourg où elle découvre le travail du tissu – malheureusement sous sa forme ornementale uniquement. En 1922, insatisfaite, Anni intègre l’école du Bauhaus – l’une des sources d’inspiration favorites de Patric Hollington.

Sous l’œil et sous l’influence de ses professeurs, elle commence un travail de façonnage des matériaux bruts. Tout comme Patric, elle dira plus tard que c’est la matière « tissu » qu’il l’a choisie comme médium plutôt que l’inverse.

Pour Anni Albers le textile est une matière vivante. Elle s’attache à apprivoiser et à développer cette fibre au fil de ses expérimentations. Avec Muche, elle apprend à maitriser ses formes ; avec Itten, elle étudie le cercle chromatique ; avec Stotzl, elle dompte la teinture et le dessin sur étoffe. Un autre de ses mentors est Klee, qui l’aidera à façonner son esprit artistique.

Anni Albers est sensible à chaque possibilité des matériaux. Elle aime travailler les tissus qui « ont de la main », alterner reliefs et plats. Tout comme Patric Hollington a détourné des tissus destinés à l’ameublement pour en faire des costumes et des vestes, elle en fait des objets. Elle est à la fois manuelle, tactile, exploratrice et sensible et parvient finalement à imaginer une production industrielle de qualité.

Bauhaus - Anni Albers

Pour Patric Hollington comme pour Anni Albers, la fibre doit être utile, belle et accessible. Ils voient leur industrie comme un artisanat où les couleurs des imprimés visent en même temps fonction et esthétique. Inspirés tous deux par leurs voyages à l’étranger et par les arts, leurs désirs sont communs : ils visent la reconsidération du matériau textile comme un médium artistique à part entière.

Cet été, la maison hollington édite de superbes jacquards de lin et coton en hommage à Anni Albers. Après de nombreuses recherches et développements de tissus avec son ami Stefano, Patric a créé une collection capsule inspirée du travail de la designer. S’y ajoutent un grand choix de toiles de lin texturées et de cotons d’été empruntant les couleurs du mouvement Bauhaus : une nouvelle gamme de tissus légers et lavables, très faciles d’entretien pour l’été !

Motifs - Anni Albers